1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FIXED HyperCon SSH does not work with Java 1.7.0_80 (64bit)

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Zac Morris, 2 May 2016.

  1. Zac Morris

    Zac Morris New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino
    When I originally read your install instructions, it stated that HyperCon works with 1.7+ Java.

    When I tried to use the SSH tab features with 32bit Java version 1.7.0_80, I would receive an error regarding "algorithm negotiation failure".

    When I used HyperCon with 32bit Java 1.8.0_92 I had no errors using the SSH tab functionality.

    This is when trying to connect to the OpenElec sshd

    Let me know if you have any questions.
    -Zac
     
    Last edited: 15 May 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Rick164

    Rick164 Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    190
    Hardware:
    RPi2, +Arduino, +AtmoOrb
    @Brindosch perhaps the latest releases of HyperCon are compiled against higher versions?
     
  3. Brindosch

    Brindosch Active Member

    Messages:
    678
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    Nope, updated the jschd lib to: jsch-0.1.53.jar
    /confirmed
    /fixed

    New release online
     
    Last edited: 2 May 2016
    • Like Like x 2
  4. thebatfink

    thebatfink New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, +Arduino
    Hi, I am having this problem too.. Get an error when trying to SSH to rPi / OpenElec. I can connect fine with Putty.

    I grabbed a screen shot of the error and what I believe to be my Java version.

    javaerror.jpg javaversion.jpg javaversion2.jpg

    Other question.. how can I get the .json config file to upload manually? Thanks!
     
  5. thebatfink

    thebatfink New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, +Arduino
    PS When you say new release online, I used the link in the downloads section which goes to Sourceforge and when starting Hypercon, it says version 1.02.3 09/04/2016 but I see your post was in May that a new version is up.. maybe I have a old version?
     
  6. Rick164

    Rick164 Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    190
    Hardware:
    RPi2, +Arduino, +AtmoOrb
    Last edited: 15 May 2016
  7. thebatfink

    thebatfink New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, +Arduino
    Hey Rick, I downloaded and installed that version. Where does it install the executable? I want to make sure it is using that to open the jar and not my previous installed version.. I tried using all the executables I could see in the Java folders.. still same error. Works fine in putty and ftp.
     
  8. Rick164

    Rick164 Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    190
    Hardware:
    RPi2, +Arduino, +AtmoOrb
    Should be here depending on version:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_91\bin\java.exe
     
  9. Brindosch

    Brindosch Active Member

    Messages:
    678
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    hm, i updated to Java 8 (91) 64bit and it is still working.
    You need at least HyperCon V1.02.1 or higher
     
  10. thebatfink

    thebatfink New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, +Arduino
    I've tried all versions of java executable I have installed and it doesn't seem to want to play ball?

    Anyway to debug exactly what it's upset about?
     
  11. Brindosch

    Brindosch Active Member

    Messages:
    678
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    The Jcraft (jsch) lib (external) throws that error. So i could not really say anything about it.
    http://www.jcraft.com/jsch/

    Is it possible that you use a blocker that blocks it?
    I also use Windows 10, so there is not much room why it should not work for you.
     
  12. thebatfink

    thebatfink New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, +Arduino
    I have no external software installed for antivirus or firewall, just whatever is with Windows 10..

    Is it waiting long enough before timing out? Sometimes my rPi is slow to login to it..
     
  13. Brindosch

    Brindosch Active Member

    Messages:
    678
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    In case of a time out you will get a clear message. I have no idea why that happend. Could you try to copy and start HyperCon at the root directory: C:
     
  14. thebatfink

    thebatfink New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, +Arduino
    Same problem, no change. I also tried on my laptop (also Windows 10) and get the same error as my desktop..
     
  15. Brindosch

    Brindosch Active Member

    Messages:
    678
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    No idea sorry. I tested again on Windows 7 32bit and Windows 10 32bit with latest java versions.
     
  16. thebatfink

    thebatfink New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, +Arduino
    I am using 64bit windows.
     
  17. Zac Morris

    Zac Morris New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino
    It's working fine for me on Win 10 64bit, using both Java 1.7 and Java 1.8.0_92 (both 32bit and 64bit versions).

    One thing to double check, as it's bitten me a few times, when you start HyperCon the IP address in the SSH tab, resets. Are you absolutely sure that the IP address on the SSH tab, is the IP address for the RPi you're trying to connect too, that you changed the drop-down to OpenELEC, and that you're using the user/password: root/openelec?
     
  18. thebatfink

    thebatfink New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, +Arduino
    I uninstalled Java and reinstalled using link from Rick. Java reports recommended version installed and no old versions hanging around

    javainstall.jpg

    I then verified my connection details in Putty (connects OK)

    putty.jpg putty2.jpg

    I can ping the machine no problem

    ping.jpg

    Here is what I have entered into Hypercon (I typed out openelec in notpad and copy pasted it in to ensure the password is correct)

    hypercon.jpg

    I get this same error every time with two different machines..

    Code:
    Session.connect: java.net.SocketTimeoutException: Read timed out
    hyperconerror.jpg
     
    Last edited: 15 May 2016
  19. thebatfink

    thebatfink New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, +Arduino
    Can you please try a version which calls including a longer timeout so I can see if this is simply throwing an exception as response is too long..

    Code:
    connect
    public void connect(int connectTimeout)
                 throws JSchException
    opens the connection, using the specified timeout.
    
    
    Throws:
    JSchException - if this session is already connected, or some other error occurs during connecting. (If there was some other exception, it is appended as the cause to the JSchException thrown.)
     
  20. Brindosch

    Brindosch Active Member

    Messages:
    678
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    There is already a timeout error message and wrong username/password error message that plops up.
    This messages plop up around 10 seconds after a click on connect.
    Your error indicates a really weird problem.

    Could you try to install a java 32bit version? This will also run on 64bit.
    Would be interesting if this work.