1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ISSUE capture problem

Discussion in 'Software Support' started by Robert Mandjes, 20 December 2020.

  1. Robert Mandjes

    Robert Mandjes New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    Hello,

    I am new here so thanks in advance for any help, much appreciated.

    Hardware:
    Apple TV 4k
    LG 65"
    Raspberry PI 3 met Hyperbian 2.0.0 alpha 9
    WS2812B RGD 60 LED strip
    20A 5 v voeding
    Video capture with loop https://www.amazon.nl/gp/product/B08F2G2VKT/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    When I start up the Raspberry the LED strip runs the start-up effect and if I choose an idle effect all works great.

    However, Ambilight is not working. If I open up the LED Visualisation and select live video I do not see the video stream.

    Any help much appreciated.

    Dank,
    Robert
     
  2. Sudip Roychoudhury

    Sudip Roychoudhury New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    I have the same problem with alpha 9. Can anyone help us please
    TIA
     
  3. Robert Mandjes

    Robert Mandjes New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    Hi TIA,

    I had a long chat on the Dutch forum about this issue (great support from Jeroen Warmerdam) and decided to order a new capture card. I am currently looking to order the Easyday and an HDMI to AV converter.

    thanks,
    Robert
     
  4. JohnnyJungle

    JohnnyJungle New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    Are you running the capture card from the 20A PSU?

    Also your source Apple TV 4K is going into a 1080p capture card so your picture quality is getting down scaled from 4K to 1080p.

    Im running 60/pm LED's on a 49" TV total of 204 LEDS and I have a 20A 5V what is your total LED count?

    Have a look in LED Hardware and check what LED Layout Preview says for me Total LEDs: 204 Max. power consumption: 13.5 A

    My setup is as follows

    Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+
    Hyperion version: 2.0.0-alpha.9
    Regulated Switching Power Supply 5V 20A
    EZCOOTECH HDMI Splitter 1x2 4K so it will send 4K / Dolby Vision / Atmos to TV and 1080p to the Pi
    Xiancai HDMI to USB2.0 1080P capture card
    CHINLY 1m 60leds WS2812B

    Picture below is my old PSU before I installed a more powerful one

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 24 December 2020
  5. Robert Mandjes

    Robert Mandjes New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    Hi Johhny,

    I have a 20A 5V power supply which powers the LED's and the PI for the capture card I had a separate powersupply.

    I have a total of 178 LED's (65" LG UHD TV) I did not put LED's on the bottom as the TV stands so no free space below.

    The LED's work fine with Hyperion in de start-up cyle and when idle so the problem I have is purely with the capturing of the HDMI signal. You make a good point on the downscaling so I have returned the capture card to Amazon.

    Can you send me the exact details of your capture card and splitter as I have problems finding them with Amazon.

    Thankls,
    Robert
     
  6. JohnnyJungle

    JohnnyJungle New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    Hi Robert, Sure these are the ones I have

    Xiancai
    Audio Video Capture Cards HDMI to USB2.0 1080P 30FPS Record via DSLR Camcorder Action Cam for High Definition Acquisition, Live Broadcasting
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B089D8D...olid=3TVRBZPFB47Q8&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

    upload_2020-12-27_23-9-18.png

    EZCOOTECH
    HDMI Splitter 1x2 4K 60Hz 4:4:4 HDR Dolby Vision Dolby Atmos, HDMI Splitter Scaler 4K 1080P,Firmware Upgrade HDMI 2.0 Splitter 1 in2 out HDCP2.2,Scaler EDID Switch,USB Power,ESD,Mini Case SP12H2
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B083JVP...olid=3TVRBZPFB47Q8&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

    upload_2020-12-27_23-11-10.png
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Robert Mandjes

    Robert Mandjes New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    Thanks Johnny
     
  8. vig1116

    vig1116 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    I just posted about this and then saw this post. I think it has to do with the input resolution. Mine changed to 720p for some reason and then I started getting the snowy screen and no led changed but white. Now I set to 1080p and I get the video coming up in Hyperion and my leds are changing colors. will have to play more with it to get it right...
     
  9. Robert Mandjes

    Robert Mandjes New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    Johnny, can you share your settings for the capture card as when it is on automatic I do not get it to work. and in the LED visualization it does not show the live video
     
  10. JohnnyJungle

    JohnnyJungle New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    These are my settings - make sure you have Enable USB capture ticked
    upload_2021-1-6_14-14-2.png

    upload_2021-1-6_14-12-38.png

    upload_2021-1-6_14-13-4.png
     
  11. Robert Mandjes

    Robert Mandjes New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    Thanks got it working only need to do some calibrating of the LED's I think as overall it is a bit blue and the filtering of the red color turns more orange
     
  12. JohnnyJungle

    JohnnyJungle New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    My LEDS are GRB order and my layout is from the top middle and the Image Processing is default

    upload_2021-1-6_14-46-55.png
    upload_2021-1-6_14-48-57.png
     
  13. Robert Mandjes

    Robert Mandjes New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Hardware:
    RPi3
  14. Shane

    Shane New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    Hey guys,

    How are you getting these capture cards to not display a test patten (or whatever its default setting is) once the source is put to sleep?
     
  15. vig1116

    vig1116 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    uncheck background effect/color under configuration - effects tab
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Shane

    Shane New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    Sorry, when i say test pattern. This is something the capture card is producing on no signal, how do you stop that?
     
  17. NeeeeB

    NeeeeB Active Member

    Messages:
    237
    Hardware:
    RPi3, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    You have to play with signal detection.
    Search for these words in the forum, already answered many times.