1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RPi + OpenELEC Changing Leds ws2801 / Apa102

Discussion in 'Hardware Support' started by Parox, 16 June 2016.

  1. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    Hello,

    I have a lightberry kit (with ws2801 led stripe) and i would like to change it with APA102.
    There is a GPIO converter but i don't know what it is for.

    My configuration is like this :
    gpio-727x1024.png

    And the connection on the GPIO port like this :

    rpi2-651x1024.jpg

    Do you think i just have to replace WS2801 by APA 102 ?

    Thanks
     
  2. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    1,972
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    Throw it away :) use the spi pins on the rpi..you dont need any additional box...
     
  3. Brindosch

    Brindosch Active Member

    Messages:
    658
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    DI CI wiring example:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. mikeB2210

    mikeB2210 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Hardware:
    RPi3
    Hi,
    In another Forum I see a DI CI wiring using Pins 19 and 23.
    I'm asking because I'm planning an Ambilight and I' m little confused.
     
  5. Brindosch

    Brindosch Active Member

    Messages:
    658
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
  6. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    The box converter is a level shifter. Max 8A.

    I replace today ws2801 by apa102 (36/m) but it doesn't work. I replace the hyperion.conf with apa102 settings.
    The leds doesn't lights up.
    I also replace my power supply by one that is 20A.

    I don't understand what's wrong....
     
  7. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    1,972
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    config pls
    is spi active?
     
  8. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    It works fine with ws2801 so i suppose that spi is active. EDIT : lsmod return this "spi_bcm2835 6756 0"

    Wich config do you want ?
     
    Last edited: 7 January 2017
  9. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    1,972
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    ok that sounds good.

    the hyperion config with your apa settings
     
  10. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
  11. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    1,972
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    // NO FRAME GRABBER CONFIG
    // NO KODI CHECK CONFIG

    you have no grabbers?

    edit: oh sorry forget the usb-grabber...

    may there is the problem...

    can you start hyperion via ssh and post the output?
     
  12. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    This is a V4l2 grabber (utv007)
    The start effect (rainbow swirl) doesn't work.
    May be a power issue ?
    When i check the power at the start of the strip i get -0.5V. (I put the black pin of the tester on the GND and the red one to the 5V), why i get negative power ?
     
  13. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    I get the log from hypercon :

    ssh out: cat /storage/logfiles/hyperion.log
    ssh in: Hyperion Ambilight Deamon (578)
    ssh in: Version : V1.03.2 (brindosch-99d9396/d3713a8-1469452981
    ssh in: Build Time: Jul 25 2016 06:54:40
    ssh in: INFO: Selected configuration file: /storage/.config/hyperion.config.json
    ssh in: HYPERION INFO: ColorTransform 'default' => [0; 129]
    ssh in: HYPERION INFO: ColorCorrection 'default' => [0; 129]
    ssh in: HYPERION INFO: ColorAdjustment 'default' => [0; 129]
    ssh in: LEDDEVICE INFO: configuration:
    ssh in: {
    ssh in: "colorOrder" : "rgb",
    ssh in: "name" : "APA102",
    ssh in: "output" : "/dev/spidev0.0",
    ssh in: "rate" : 1000000,
    ssh in: "type" : "apa102"
    ssh in: }
    ssh in: HYPERION INFO: Not creating any smoothing
    ssh in: EFFECTENGINE INFO: 27 effects loaded from directory /storage/hyperion/effects
    ssh in: EFFECTENGINE INFO: Initializing Python interpreter
    ssh in: INFO: Hyperion started and initialised
    ssh in: INFO: Boot sequence 'X-Mas' EFFECTENGINE INFO: run effect X-Mas on channel 0
    ssh in: BLACKBORDER INFO: threshold set to 0.01 (3)
    ssh in: BLACKBORDER INFO: mode:default
    ssh in: started
    ssh in: INFO: Json server created and started on port 19444
    ssh in: INFO: Proto server created and started on port 19445
    ssh in: V4L2GRABBER INFO: width=720 height=576
    ssh in: V4L2GRABBER INFO: pixel format=YUYV
    ssh in: BLACKBORDER INFO: threshold set to 0.01 (3)
    ssh in: BLACKBORDER INFO: mode:default
    ssh in: V4L2GRABBER INFO: signal threshold set to: {0,0,0}
    ssh in: V4L2GRABBER INFO: started
    ssh in: INFO: V4L2 grabber created and started
    ssh in: BORDER SWITCH REQUIRED!!
    ssh in: CURRENT BORDER TYPE: unknown=0 hor.size=0 vert.size=0
    ssh in: V4L2GRABBER INFO: stopped
    ssh in: EFFECTENGINE INFO: effect finished
    ssh in: V4L2GRABBER INFO: started
     
  14. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    1,972
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    everything looks good on software side, may more a hardware issue? is your led stripe in a shrinking tube? if yes, remove it, maybe the cablecolors are not matching the right pins... if you connected the wrong pins, maybe the first led is broken now...this could also be an issue now...
     
  15. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    no shinking tube but i will check the pins and give feedback. Thanks !
     
  16. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    Well, the GND and +5V was not matching.....so i suppose that the clk and data was not match
    I cut the first led , and soldering in the right way but nothing works. I suppose the led strip is broken.
    Does anyone know a way to easily test the led strip?
     
  17. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    1,972
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    power it with gnd + 5v, and then use 2 jumper wires (clk +data) and go the to pins before the leds and test which will work maybe onky a few at the starts are broken
     
  18. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    Like this shortcut dat and clk before each led ?

    Sans titre.png
     
    Last edited: 8 January 2017
  19. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    1,972
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +nodeMCU/ESP8266
    oh hell no!

    gnd + vcc is ok, but dont shortcut! 2 wires from your pi data and clock, then you hold the clock wire on clock IN on the led-stripe and the data wire on data IN and see if the led blinks, if not, move the wires to the next data and clock IN port

    but before you do this be sure hyperion is started and you set a fix color ( for example "hyperion-remote -c red")
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Parox

    Parox Member

    Messages:
    52
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero
    ok i understand ;)
    Thanks a lot !