1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RPi + OpenELEC Not working

Discussion in 'Software Support' started by Feredyr, 16 August 2016.

  1. Feredyr

    Feredyr New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Hardware:
    RPi2, RPi3
    Hello
    I have already done a "french talk" post but I repost here to have more answer with English community:
    I try to make working Hyperion on my Fresh Openelec Install (6.0.3) on a Raspberry pi 2.
    to do so, I do the commands bellow:
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw /flash
    cd /flash/overlays/
    curl -L --output enable-spi-overlay.dtb --get https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3669512/temp/enable-spi-overlay.dtb
    nano /flash/config.txt
    
    to add at the end of the file
    Code:
    device_tree_overlay=overlays/enable-spi-overlay.dtb
    dtparam=spi=on
    
    Then
    Code:
    reboot
    curl -L --output install_hyperion.sh --get https://raw.githubusercontent.com/tvdzwan/hyperion/master/bin/install_hyperion.sh
    sh ./install_hyperion.sh
    
    At this step, I think Hyperion should work.
    I generate my conf file
    and uploaded it in /storage/hyperion/config

    After that I pluged my led (only DI & CI) to my RPI2 as in the picture below:
    [​IMG]
    My power supply is enoughly strong for my built ( 10A, 5V)

    So i try to make it works:
    Code:
    /storage/hyperion/bin/hyperiond.sh /storage/hyperion/config/hyperion.config.json
    the initial rainbow works but the troubles come after...
    I display a full red picture on my Kodi, to test the led. (to test the color order)
    But the led display all the color of the rainbow and white or light off, never stop changing of color, flashing /moving.
    They never stop on a single color.

    the result of the previous command is:
    Code:
    Hyperion Ambilight Deamon (1876)
            Version   : V1.03.2 (brindosch-99d9396/d3713a8-1469452981
            Build Time: Jul 25 2016 06:54:40
    INFO: Selected configuration file: /storage/hyperion/config/hyperion.config.json
    HYPERION INFO: ColorTransform 'default' => [0; 97]
    HYPERION INFO: ColorCorrection 'default' => [0; 97]
    HYPERION INFO: ColorAdjustment 'default' => [0; 97]
    LEDDEVICE INFO: configuration:
    {
            "colorOrder" : "rgb",
            "name" : "MyHyperionConfig",
            "output" : "/dev/spidev0.0",
            "rate" : 1000000,
            "type" : "ws2801"
    }
    
    INFO: Creating linear smoothing
    HYPERION (CS) INFO: Created linear-smoothing(interval_ms=50;settlingTime_ms=200;updateDelay=0
    EFFECTENGINE INFO: 27 effects loaded from directory /storage/hyperion/effects
    EFFECTENGINE INFO: Initializing Python interpreter
    INFO: Hyperion started and initialised
    INFO: Boot sequence 'Rainbow swirl' EFFECTENGINE INFO: run effect Rainbow swirl on channel 0
    BLACKBORDER INFO: threshold set to 0 (0)
    BLACKBORDER INFO: mode:default
    started
    INFO: Kodi checker created and started
    INFO: Json server created and started on port 19444
    INFO: Proto server created and started on port 19445
    INFO: Boblight server created and started on port 19333
    DISPMANXGRABBER INFO: Display opened with resolution: 1280x800
    BLACKBORDER INFO: threshold set to 0 (0)
    BLACKBORDER INFO: mode:default
    INFO: Frame grabber created and started
    KODICHECK ERROR: Kodi Connection error (0)
    BORDER SWITCH REQUIRED!!
    CURRENT BORDER TYPE: unknown=0 hor.size=0 vert.size=0
    EFFECTENGINE INFO: effect finished
    KODICHECK ERROR: Kodi Connection error (0)
    KODICHECK ERROR: Kodi Connection error (0)
    KODICHECK ERROR: Kodi Connection error (0)
    KODICHECK ERROR: Kodi Connection error (0)
    KODICHECK ERROR: Kodi Connection error (0)

    Can you please help me ?
     
  2. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    2,122
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +WLED, RPi4
    just comment out (or delete) this part:
    "framegrabber" :
    {
    "width" : 64,
    "height" : 64,
    "frequency_Hz" : 10.0,
    "priority" : 890
    },
     
  3. Feredyr

    Feredyr New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Hardware:
    RPi2, RPi3
    Thanks for your answer, unfortunatly it's worst now.
    after the "boot effect" no more led lights on.
     
  4. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    2,122
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +WLED, RPi4
    the menu is disabled ( "grabMenu" : false, ) did you started a video to test?
     
  5. Feredyr

    Feredyr New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Hardware:
    RPi2, RPi3
    Yes:
    With the framegrabber comment no led light on
    with the framegrabber uncomment the led just gone crazy.

    I will make some others tests tonight (playing with the "boot effect" to set the correct RGB order)
     
  6. Feredyr

    Feredyr New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Hardware:
    RPi2, RPi3
    So ...
    My evenings tests: I try to switch the "boot effect" to "Red mood blobs" or "Knight rider" without any effect. Led still flash something like a rainbow.
    I do a fresh install of OSMC on another card. Same result.
    I also notice that the first Led is still light on. even with the deamon stop or the service (osmc).
    I start to think that the problem is my raspberry pi 2
    I will borrow another to a colleague next week
    I will update this threards
     
  7. Feredyr

    Feredyr New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Hardware:
    RPi2, RPi3
    I just watch a Youtube video of the rainbow swirl,. and what my leds don't anything like that. I definitely think it's the raspberry.
     
  8. TPmodding

    TPmodding Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    2,122
    Hardware:
    RPi1/Zero, RPi2, RPi3, +Arduino, +WLED, RPi4
    Hm but you said the rainbow on start works?
     
  9. Feredyr

    Feredyr New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Hardware:
    RPi2, RPi3
    I though it was the rainbow because I saw colors moving
    but not like that :
     
  10. siz

    siz New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Hardware:
    RPi2
    Have you tried installing Hyperion using the built-in install/update function in the Hypercon Java application instead of doing it manually? Then you would at least rule out a typo/software glitch.
     
  11. Feredyr

    Feredyr New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Hardware:
    RPi2, RPi3
    Hello all.
    I just finish a new test on a Raspberry PI 3 following the official Tutorial of Brindosch with the automatic install from the Hypercon application
    My Leds are still crazy.
    I run out of ideas maybe my chinese leds are just crap
    My leds began to be crazy before i solder them (the 160 leds stripes) So my soldering are dismissed